20 minute Pumpkin Spice Donuts 

Living in Alaska is really awesome. I love living here. But there is one drawback- there isn’t a lot of choices for eating out.

When I have a craving for something, I can’t go out an buy it. Case and point, Indian Food.

Today’s craving was an old fashioned donut. A pumpkin donut. The donut that pairs perfectly with your PSL. You know what I’m talking about, cakey, crisp outside, soaked in glaze, yummy!

 So to Pinterest I went, looking for a great recipie. The Baker Mama had a 20 minute recipe for plain old fashioned donuts, so I was sold. I made some changes to make it a PSL Donut. This recipe is very versatile, and you could make a lot of flavor combinations with it.

Find The Baker Mama Recipe Here

The modification I made was I substituted 1/4 of the 3/4 cup of heavy cream for pumpkin purée. I also added A LOT of pumpkin spice and cinnamon to the dry goods.

Dry goods:

  • 2 cups flour (I used half bread, half all purpose)
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • liberal amount of pumpkin spice, and cinnamon, 10 shakes straight out of the container.

Wet:

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla


You simply mix the dry goods, then the wet, and mix them together into a nice soft ball of dough.



Next,roll out the dough and cut your pieces. Pumpkin shapes would have been cute too.


 Fry the pieces in 350 degree canola oil. 3 minutes per side.


Testing the oil temperature and some dough scraps. I think the oil should be a little hotter than 350 because once you add the uncooked donuts it will bring the temperature down.

  
I let the cooked donut dry/soak over paper towels for a minute, then dunked them in the icing.

  
The icing I made was eyeballed. Roughly,

1 heaping tablespoon of pumpkin purée

3 cups powder sugar

1/4-1/2 cup heavy cream

Dash of vanilla

Dash of pumpkin spice and cinnamon


And there you have them! They are easy and quick and will hit the spot for your pumpkin spice craving. Even Ellie likes them 🙂


2 thoughts on “20 minute Pumpkin Spice Donuts 

  1. Pingback: Meal Prep Ideas

Leave a Reply

