Wanderlust Wednesday 10.28.2015

Hi friends!

It’s been a looong time since I posted a “Wanderlust Wednesday” (last time I wrote about India and Greece)

This series is to share all of the trips I dream of going on. Right now there are few dream locations I would like to visit, such as cycling the Alsace Wine Route from Frankfurt, Germany, through Strasbourg and Colmar in France down to Lucerne and Zurich, Switzerland . Another destination that holds some major allure for me is Amsterdam. My friend Kari once told me it was the best city in Europe. Plus, bicycles, canals and waffles? I’m sold.

But today I want to share about a trip Nav and I planned on taking to Sonoma for my birthday in January. The dream has died due to reality, but I wanted to share the itinerary I planned.

Flying from Fairbanks to San Francisco, we depart on Thursday evening, arriving Friday morning for a three day weekend.

On the list for our Friday in SF:

baked-10
Mr. Holmes Bakehouse for Breakfast
la taqueria
Tacos for Lunch
cinema
Foreign Cinema for Dinner

Of course lots of eating at some SF favorites, a trip to the Fisherman’s Wharf and a stop by the adorable Miette for gifts to bring home.

After dinner, we will head north to this dreamy AirBnB, Cozy A-Frame Cabin in the Redwoods  for $140 a night.

IMG_8185 IMG_8184

Or if we were feeling like expanding the budget, Sonoma Russian River Beach Retreat for $210 a night.

IMG_8186

Both are ideal locations to explore Sonoma. Saturday, we were looking forward to wine tasting, especially at La Crema as we love their Chardonnay.

Sunday, I would love to spend some time in Healdsburg, especially at SHED, from their website “Winner of a 2014 James Beard Award for restaurant design, SHED is a market, café, and community gathering space designed to bring us closer to the way we grow, prepare, and share our food. Our modern Grange reflects the best of our local farming culture, delivering a seasonally curated selection of workshops, wares, and freshly prepared foods to our guests”

One of my favorite blogs, Hither & Thither shared about their daytrip to SHED, and boy did it look dreamy. The whole blog is dreamy actually, definitely check it out.

We also planned to go biking along the Russian River to Sonoma State Park, to view the sunset on the rugged coast.

Sonoma-Coast-at-Goat-Rock-Beach

Other than eating, drinking, and cycling, we were looking forward to relaxing, and spend some quality time together.

Instead of taking a long weekend in California, we are planning to stay in Alaska and get away to a cabin here. I’ll be sure to share 🙂

Where do you wish you were this Wanderlust Wednesday?

Leave a comment